New Single from Mistrust

I have a new song out on my Bandcamp page! It’s called “New Chester Road (Revisited)” and is a rework of the song that appeared on my 2023 album “Sunlight”. It’s a bit of a tribute to Chris Cross, the bass player from Ultravox who sadly passed away last month.

Mistrust says: “New Chester Road Revisited takes the listener on a journey down the road of the same name, from Birkenhead to Chester via Port Sunlight. It’s a metaphor about looking back on life and how things are no longer the same, but never really change.”

I started playing the original version of New Chester Road live at my gigs last year but wanted to try it with a more uptempo, electronic feel. Something a bit more in my Kraftwerk, OMD, and early Human League influenced style.

The beat I used in the new version reminded me of the one used in the song “The Quiet Men” by Ultravox in the John Foxx era (one of my favourite songs). I then ended up trying to replicate the stuttering bass line which sounds similar to the one performed by Chris Cross in The Quiet Men. When I heard that Chris had died, I felt that I wanted to pay my own tribute to him. Rather than do a cover version of an Ultravox song, this feels like a more personal thing to do and put out a song which is very much inspired by one of his classic bass lines and influential style.

Here it is: Mistrust – New Chester Road (Revisited). RIP Chris Cross 😢 https://listento.mistrustmusic.co.uk/album/new-chester-road-revisited?t=1

While you’re here…

I’m planning to perform my new single “New Chester Road (Revisited)” live at Peggy McCool’s in Warrington on Sunday 28th April 2024, when I’ll be playing on the Big Condo Records Tour 2024 First Lap.

More information and Tickets are here on Skiddle!

Comments

Leave a comment