Soundcloud Copyright Disputes Part 1

The following conversation recently took place between myself and the Soundcloud Copyright team, after I received the third copyright dispute about official remixes I had uploaded to their website. I’d just become a little bit annoyed that they were questioning my rights over the remixes at the same time my notifications were full of “unofficial” Brittany Spears and Justin Bieber remixes. Part 2 follows later.

soundcloudHi there, I’ve received messages from Soundcloud disputing 3 of my remixes and I’ve sent information to you about them, confirming that they are officially-approved tracks and given you the name of someone to contact at the label which commissioned me. I’m happy that you are checking up on “unofficial” tracks, but unless some other artist or listener is deliberately picking on my tracks, I’m concerned that you seem to be picking on small-timers like me with not many plays and followers, whilst continuing to allow thousands of other seemingly unofficial cover versions and remixes that rack up 1000’s of plays. Unless you are checking on every file that is uploaded, I fear that Soundcloud is heading for the wrath of the major labels in the same way that happened to Youtube, and we’ll all have ads splashed across our pages. Sorry if it sounds like a rant, but can you please explain your policy about uploading tracks and how many more times I may have to settle disputes on my official remixes.

The reply came a few hours later:

Hi Tim,

Thanks for writing in and for submitting this dispute. I can see that it has already been processed, and that the track is back on your profile.

Really sorry about this temporary inconvenience, and thanks for hanging in there while we fixed this problem.

At SoundCloud, we strive to ensure that everybody’s rights are respected. To help achieve this goal at scale, we work with a third-party content ID system that is the best in the market. What happened is that your track was flagged by our system as containing copyrighted content.

We understand that you have to take an additional step and fill out our dispute form to clear your sounds for uploading, and we’re sorry if this is an inconvenience, but we hope you’ll understand that it will help to keep your sounds safeguarded.

Thanks again for your patience,

SoundCloud Copyright Team

I didn’t leave it there, and decided to write back to them, which you can read here….

Continued….

 

Leave a Reply

