Why Facebook and kids

Well, I’m certainly getting a lot of hits on here about kids using Facebook. Why’s that then? Dunno, really. Maybe a lot of kids go on it, and a lot of parents either want to monitor what they’re doing on it or don’t want them on it all. I like all this social networking thing. Don’t get me wrong. Think it’s great. Very useful, very now. Can’t see the world going back to a Facebook-less era. However, why are parents still letting their kids as young as six or seven going on Facebook? Why? What reason? Have they forgotten how to talk? Fine – if your relatives are halfway round the world. What about Skype. What about setting up your own family social network on blog thing. Anyway. The debate still goes on and it rankles with me that I still see all my kids’ friends on there. So what are the schools doing about it? Not a lot at the moment, but maybe it’s finally getting through to the schools that something should be done about it. Take this for example.  Internet Safety for children.  Maybe things will start changing.

So, why am I on Facebook if I’m not happy about young  kids being on it? Well, I’ve been in touch with a few people from school, and I’m using it to plug my music. That’s it. That’s all. If you’re on Facebook and want to become a fan of my music, click here and “Become a Fan“. I’m also on Twitter.

The gratuitous plug.

I did a remix for dub band International Observer a while ago. The track is called “Popcorn Slavery (mistrust remix)” and is out on the band’s EP on Monday 22nd February. You can hear previews of it on my Soundcloud and Myspace pages, and it’s available to download from Monday on all major music sites, and the band’s own Bandcamp page. Spread the word.

Here’s the soundcloud player for it….

Leave a Reply

