Reality check for a bedroom musician

Well, I’ve certainly had it coming to me!At last someone in the music industry telling me how it really is. Giving me an honest opinion about my music and production skills. Or actually, limited production skills. Nice tune, shame about the production.  I finally got to meet someone from the record company that let me do a few remixes for their bands. The remixes massively raised my profile and gave me a big confidence booster, and really made me think about my own tunes and how I can improve them. However, the opinion is that I really need to get some feedback and a second opinion when I’m making some tracks. Someone to bounce ideas off in terms of mixing and production, either alongside me or on the web, before I send in a remix or put any more tracks on the web if I’m doing anything more than saying “I’m just doing this for fun. Get back on the forums and read up on “production”. I could release stuff on the web, free of course, and say “Hope you like the tune, but don’t mind the production.” I guess if I’m honest with myself, it’s ok putting out tracks on Myspace but when I’m making them for someone else to release or who has a reputation to keep, I really need to get the production-side of things sorted.

Probably needed the advice and the objective comments, as I’ve probably been living in cloud cuckoo land or splendid isolation for a while.  After doing a couple of remixes I’ve done that had commercial releases, one of which made it onto a proper remix cd, I’d probably started to believe the hype. I guess that when a musician or a band starts to sell a few CDs or gets some radio airplay, they just carry on thinking that everything’s coming up roses.

So, the advice is that I should pick out a few of the many unfinished tracks I have sitting on the laptop, and really work hard of getting them to sound right. I’m not looking to get signed by a label. Just doing it as a hobby, for fun, but I have an incentive to get it right and to stop messing around, coming with millions of ideas and not finishing anything. An incentive. A very good incentive.

I was a bit downhearted when I got the comments and feedback, but I did ask for an honest opinion! So, if there are any bands and musicians out there and you get some honest opinions about your tunes or production techniques that knock you back, take it on the chin, pick yourself up, getting working to improve what you’re doing!

Leave a Reply

