Young kids and Facebook #2 – Parents strike back

More on from my recent post about Young kids and Facebook, where I read on my local school’s newsletter that some of the 7-11 year olds were going on Facebook. I decided to take matters into my own hands and send an email to the headteacher, asking if they knew there was information readily available on the internet about the pros and cons of children using Facebooks and other social networking sites. I also suggested that they look at sites like Thinkyouknow and maybe list them in one of the newsletters. To my surprise, I got an email back the next day, thanking me for pointing out what I did, and then got a mention in the next newsletter, in a paragraph telling parents about the Thinkyouknow website. So, a big tick for Parent Power! It’s probably the first time I’ve written to the school about anything – probably because it bothers me so much. We’ll probably never know if any of the parents take notice of it, but it’s a start. However, I’m now waiting for the backlash from parents saying “how dare you tell me how to bring up my child!” It actually makes you wonder why the Local Education Authority haven’t issued guidelines to school about things like using Facebook etc. Surely they’re the people who have more influence. I think I’m going to have to suggest going in and talking to the staff and kids about all this….

As you may know if you’re following my ramblings regularly, I am a Twitterer as well as a WordPress blogger. As such, I’m interested to read that WordPress have finally got round to adding a Twitter widget to the list available to those of us with WordPress.com accounts. I won’t go into details about what the widget will do as there’s more information about in WordPress.com’s blog post here – “Bring Twitter to Your Blog“. However, I’m still not convinced about having all my eggs in one basket – in other words, will people prefer to follow my tweets in Twitter, and my blogs in WordPress?

And finally – for those people who don’t know me, or are just interested in the ramblings about Facebook etc., you might like to know that I also make music in my spare time. In fact, I’ve been quite busy recently with the music-making. I”ve been making my own tunes for a few years, but a chance meeting with a DJ from the Big Chill organisation put me in touch with New Zealand band Pitch Black. I asked if I could do a remix for them, just because 1. I like their music, and 2. for a bit of experience of doing a remix. I sent it in, and they liked it so much they released it on their EP of the title track of their last album, and it’s on their new remix CD out in May. Because of that, I was asked to do a remix for Big Chill band Animat for their next single – that’s out early May too. Not bad eh? I’m on the lookout for some more remixes to do, but so far, so good! If you’d like to hear the remixes, please go to www.myspace.com/mistrust

The tracks on Myspace are:

Pitch Black – Rude Mechanicals (mistrust – ambiotik remix)

Animat – Deep Space Lament (mistrust remix)

Leave a Reply

