Audio Podcasting for the idle blogger

Apart from actually reading out the various posts on here and recording what I’m saying, the only other way I can make an audio podcast of my blog ramblings is to use one of the many “audio feed” tools that are out on the web. There are quite a lot of these things suddenly appearing all over web, and if you’re not familiar with them, they take the RSS feed from your blog and play it back using an articifial voice. I’ve used Talkr on my blog before and it had a nice synthetic feminine lilt to its voice. However, I can’t seem to get on to their site anymore and fear that my audio feeds are no more.  So, what else can I use, seeing as though it’s impossible to get any peace and quiet at home to record a podcast myself? Well, according to various blog posts, reviews, and promo sites there are several, so I thought I’d test what some of them sound like, and what other things they offer (eg the ability to add your audio blog to iTunes. Let’s have a look at a few and compare what they sound like. First up….

odiogo

Offers a whole “audio” and sharing page, including a link to subscribe in iTunes (which I’ve added to my “subscribe” links on here), plus a direct mp3 stream for each post. It also creates an M3u playlist. Here’s an example or two – see what you think:

A is for Amazon (on odiogo)

Stream all articles

Audiofeed

This is the “free” version of Readspeaker, which seems to be making a big impression with allsorts of companies and organisations. It offers a HTML link to your own “audiofeed” page where there are a few sharing options, in addition to a player and direct to mp3 download for each ‘cast. There’s a really useful link to a mobile version of your page.

More soon….

By the way, I’m trying out this new social networking toolbar called “GetSocial”, to make it easier for people to bookmark these posts. So go on then, give me a whirl!!!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Leave a Reply

