Where have all the musicians gone?

 I’m still concerned about the apparent lack of musicians who run blogs on WordPress and (ahem) Blogger, in fact all the other major blogging sites. Come to think of it, there don’t seem to be many “bands that blog” on Myspace these days. When I’ve looked under the “music” tag on WordPress, the majority of links and headlines that appear are usually from people commenting about their favourite tracks or all-time 100 love songs, something like that. Not a lot from either established acts or bedroom musicians like me. Why’s that? Why not blog, all ye musos of the world? I must be missing something. I’ll be they all run blogs on their own websites. That’s it. Must be the answer.

So, here’s the challenge: If anyone knows of either established acts who run blogs on WordPress (or Blogger) comment back and I’ll add them (and you) to my blogroll.

If you look at this  blog regularly, you’ll notice my capacity for dissatisfaction with my blog theme. I think the people who design the themes are very clever, but the ones on offer at WordPress.com don’t really suite the needs of a downtempo/chillout musician. I’ve chosen the “blue” one this time, and added my own header (a crop from Music Tech magazine’s announcement of me winning the Yamaha keyboard – see thread below). Well, it’s different to all the clouds and rivers and flowers, and other pretty pictures. No doubt I’ll get bored and go for pink or something soon.

I used to frequent a website and forum called “Electromancer”, where I uploaded my first “modern” tracks (“Never Alone” included), and where I got a lot of support and inspiration to make more tunes. Sadly, Electromancer folded (read about it in my old blog) and most of its members went over to a site called Nervejam, where they all continue the spirit of support, inspiration (and tomfoolery) and make nice tunes. I’m mentioning Nervejam because the site admin (Nervejam, himself) has changed my profile name/avatar to something that I really like and which I’ve decided to adopt as my byline on this blog (thanks NJ)….

YammyGit

Talking of which, you can now listen to this and all my other blog posts in MP3 format. I’ve got a RSS feed going off to Talkr.com which produces all my posts in audio format with a weird-sounding, automated female sounding voice. I guess I now have my own podcast. Rather than having “listen” blocks in every previous post, there’s a link to all of the “podcasts” here at TruMix. Have a listen – it’s really quite bizarre…..

2 thoughts on “Where have all the musicians gone?

  1. Hi Tim, been a while! I’ve changed my blog around since you last saw it – been working on some new music, but the blog is now focused on blogging and website tips without the jargon.

    I’d like to see more people blogging, but I know that not everyone is technical – and most “blogs about blogging” assume you already know everything. So, I have decided to tackle this by providing tips without the jargon.

    I’ve subscribed to your blog in Google Reader and will be checking in from time to time.

Leave a Reply

