Youtube and other video sites driving web traffic

I’d guess that a lot of people have a video or two on Youtube, Google Video, and some of the many other video hosting sites. Out of those people, how many of them use the videos to drive web traffic to their own, or someone else’s website?

I’ve got a couple of the O’Neill surfing clips on Youtube. These are two of the sections that are used in the “Deep Blue Open 2005” promo film, featuring three of my tracks.  Since I uploaded them, I’ve have quite a lot of hits, but it doesn’t seem to be driving a lot of traffic to my this blog or the mistrust music website. The videos are amongst quite a lot of other surfing videos so you’d think that people who watch those would follow the links to my music. Maybe not. There doesn’t seem to be a lot written on the web about how to improve your traffic using Youtube etc. Maybe someone could suggest something.

Following on from the last post – “The Colour Purple” – I can now report that I was featured artist of the week on a show on Purple Radio, which is the official radio station of the Big Chill organistion. The DJ, Ketsbaia, played three tracks, “Dubcrazy”, “Painless Light” and “Distant Shores”. I got a few nice comments from the DJ, and some support on the Big Chill Forum. My tracks were played alongside a lot of “A-list” bands, and seemed to hold up ok. He ran out of time to play a fourth track “Never Alone”, but said that he liked it that much that he’d play it in a couple of weeks.

As for other things…

The “mistrust clan” went to Borth near Aberystwyth for a week in a caravan at the end of July. It’s an old fishing village, which is very quiet and suited Paul (my stepson, who has PDD-NOS, and a massive social phobia, amongst other things). It started off as a complete disaster – pouring rain, burst car tyre, everyone worn out – but in the end we didn’t want to come home. Lots of nice scenery and fresh air to inspire me to write some new tunes. I’ll put some of the photos on Flickr soon.

I’m in the middle of applying for a new job, and contemplating a move from the Manchester area to Yorkshire. Things are happening at work which mean I could be out of a job or at least being downgraded in the next two years, so the time is write to put my skills to better use. Besides that, the holiday proved how much Paul, and the other children, need to be nearer the countryside and aware from where we’re currently living. If anyone reading this lives in the more scenic areas of West Yorkshire, please can you leave a comment saying if it’s a nice place to live?

Leave a Reply

