Odeo, oh dear

I wanted to put some of music on the world of mistrust. I’ve got tracks hosted on Last.fm and loads of other sites, all with wonderful music players that can be embedded into a webpage. However, due to “security” concerns, WordPress won’t let you embed them because they’re all Flash-based. That leaves only a few of alternatives: direct text links to my Last.fm MP3s, which force readers to download or play them with their own music player; use a widget that will go in my sidebar; or use the built in audio player that WordPress allows.

I don’t want to build in text links because I want people to be able to listen while they’re reading, rather than having to mess around with their own player. The widget option is really Odeo or nothing, because the player looks good and is really a podcast in disguise, so it’s streamable. Sonific (the other music widget) won’t let you use your own music, so that’s out. So, Odeo it is. Or maybe not. It’s a useful website and sleek player, but finding the right place to put my music was a PIA, and then having to sort out how to get the tracks into a podcast took ages. Although they have nice little players that you can embed, the one in WordPress too big. There must be somthing easier. I may look at Odeo another time, but at the moment, I want a flashy music player and I ain’t going to get one. As for video, I’m going to look at the vodpod widget to stream my O’Neill videos…….

By the way….the I’ve got a new look to the site. More about this tomorrow.

One thought on “Odeo, oh dear

  1. I’m a little new to the online music/podcasting scene, but I like the way the ODEO player works. I’m using switchpod.com to host the files, then odeo can either pick up on that podcast which i’ve had limited success with, or I can add the direct link URL from switchpod to my podcast playlist on ODEO. It seems a little redundant. I’m much prefer to upload directly to ODEO, but alas.

Leave a Reply

