All the world’s an MP3 stage

I’ve been thinking about the number of music hosting sites and MP3 directories that I have my music on. Most of them are free-to-download places where people can just have my tracks for nothing. I started off in late 2004 by choosing just one site – Electromancer.com, which is now no more, just because I lacked confidence about my music and it seemed like a good place to start when I’d never even considered putting my music out to the public. In fact, even though Electromancer closed down last year, a lot of the artists are still active on the forums of another site, Nervejam, and are still as friendly and supportive as ever.

I got a bit more confident after getting some great reviews, thinking that more people might give me a listen, so I followed links and recommendations about other hosting sites, signed up to 2 or 3, and waited for the plays to roll in. Then I started chasing more sites and more plays, until I had tracks on about 1o or 15 sites. I’ve now lost track (and usernames/passwords) of most of those sites, and still get the occasional email from them, saying someone has posted a comment. A quick check on google as to which sites I’m on offers up 94 links for “mistrust music site” and 30 for “never alone mistrust” (my first track from 2004).

I still see the same old faces on all these hosting sites, desperately looking for more plays, trading reviews, asking if the rolloff should be at 40Hz or 20, continually producing new tracks in the hope of what? Getting signed by an independent label? How many of them trawl the unsigned band pages looking for new talent?  I don’t mean any disrespect to all these unsigned artists, if that’s what they’re happy doing. It’s just that I have got the time any more to keep making tracks, posting reviews, etc.

I’ve thought about uploading my music to loads of other MP3 hosts, especially the ones that have been recommended by music magazines, just to get a few more people interested, by right now, what’s the point? I’ve got a blog, a myspace profile, and somewhere to host a few tracks. I’ve been featured on a local radio show and played by a few DJs. That’s probably all I need. I’ve signed a non-exclusive deal with a music library, so it’s not a bad life.

Here’s some homework you, dear reader:

How many websites am I listed on for “mistrust mp3” at google? Answers in the comments box, please!

Don’t forget to listen to some of my tracks… 

One thought on “All the world’s an MP3 stage

  1. I’m on Indiestore (I think that’s how I found you…), last.fm, and MySpace. I also have my own sites – benbarden.com and lyricless.com. People who already know me will go to benbarden.com, but I’m still finding new listeners elsewhere. Instead of joining music communities, I try to join non-music communities because there is less competition. It seems to work!

Leave a Reply

